Basic Info

Sechkies profile.png

Click image for more info

Known as one of the seminal groups in the history of Hallyu, Sechs Kies is a six-member group that was active from the mid-1990s through 2000. Group members Eun Ji Won, Lee Jae Jin, Kim Jae Duk, Kang Sung Hoon, Ko Ji Yong, and Jang Su Won were signed with Daesung Entertainment and debuted on April 15, 1997.

During their three year tenure, Sechs Kies (German for “six pebbles”) successfully mastered and promoted several genres of music (pop, rap, R&B). Their efforts earned a number of awards (almost all Bonsang awards) from various entities, including Mnet’s Golden Disk and Korean Music Television Awards.

Throughout most of 1999, Sechs Kies held several concerts and a fan meeting. A year later, the group released their final album and disbanded. Since disbandment, former member Eun Ji Won has continued a solo career as a rapper under the name G1 (G), while Kang Sung Hoon has released several solo albums, and other members Jang Su Won and Kim Jae Duc formed the duo J-walk.  Unfortunately, in 2009 Lee Jae Jin was charged with desertion from the MMA, and in 2011 he was charged with driving under the influence.  In 2013, former member Kang Sung Hoon was sentenced to four years imprisonment on fraud charges.

Basic Info